Boulder’s Carnegie Branch Library for Local History is in trouble, and we need to speak up!

September 1, 2018

I have learned that the Carnegie Branch Library for Local History is facing draconian cuts in staff and hours. David Farnan, the Boulder library director, is proposing that they cut the archivist’s position entirely, and that they scale back the hours at the library to a few hours one day a week, with a few more hours available only by appointment.

I believe that David Farnan deliberately kept this information from interested parties by telling staff that they were not allowed to discuss this situation with anyone until they had issued the press release, August 30th. The Library Commission meets on Wednesday, September 5th, at 6 PM in the Canyon Meeting Room at the main library. My understanding is that there is an opportunity for public comment at the beginning of the meeting, but that they aren’t expecting anyone to show … by design. I believe that they are planning to meet and make this decision final without anyone who is interested in local history knowing. It would be great if we could have many people show up to the meeting on Wednesday evening.

I know that you’re interested in local history, and I’m hoping you will help. Please make a phone call, write an email or a letter to the editor. Every voice counts if we’re to save public access to the Carnegie Library.

Below is the contact information for the library director, the Library Commission members, the Boulder City Council (who will hold a budget meeting on September 11th), the County Commissioners (because this decision affects people in the County as well as the City), and the email for the letters to the Editor at the Boulder Daily Camera.

The Carnegie Branch Library holds most of the archival material necessary for local history research … we can’t just let this library director shutter the library.
Boulder Library Director
David Farnan, 303-441-3104, FarnanD@boulderlibrary.org
Library Commission Members
Jane Sykes Wilson, jesykeswilson@gmail.com
Joni Teter, 303-499-8970, jteterbpl@gmail.com
Joel Koenig, 720-979-1104, joelkoe44@gmail.com
Tim O’Shea, tim@engagecolorado.com
Juana Gomez, 303-499-9505, juana@lawrenceandgomez.com

Contact Form
https://boulderlibrary.org/about/commission/contact/
Boulder City Council
General Contact: 303-441-3002
council@bouldercolorado.gov

Mayor Suzanne Jones, 720-633-7388, joness@bouldercolorado.gov
Mayor Pro Tem Aaron Brockett, 720-984-1863, brocketta@bouldercolorado.gov
Bob Yates, 720-310-5829, yatesb@bouldercolorado.gov
Cindy Carlisle, 303-434-1456, carlislec@bouldercolorado.gov
Jill Adler Grano, 303-917-6810, granoj@bouldercolorado.gov
Lisa Morzel, 303-815-6723, morzell@bouldercolorado.gov
Mary D Young, 303-501-2439, youngm@bouldercolorado.gov
Mirabai Kuk Nagle, 303-818-4128, naglem@bouldercolorado.gov
Sam Weaver, 303-416-61340, weavers@bouldercolorado.gov

Boulder County Commissioners
contact:
303-441-3500
commissioners@bouldercounty.org
https://www.bouldercounty.org/government/elected-officials/commissioners/contact-the-commissioners/

Cindy Dominico
Deb Gardner
Elise Jones

Boulder Daily Camera Letters to the Editor email:
openforum@prairiemountainmedia.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: